Election Information

The City of Knoxville is a municipality which operates under the election authority of the Knox County Clerk, and the State Board of Elections of the State of Illinois.The City Clerk serves as the Local Election Authority.Elections for municipal offices are held in April each odd-numbered year at the Consolidated Election.

Elected officers are:

  • Mayor
  • Clerk
  • Treasurer
  • Ward 1- 2 Aldermen
  • Ward 2- 2 Aldermen
  • Ward 3- 2 Aldermen
  • Ward 4- 2 Aldermen

Terms of office are for four years. The mayor, clerk, treasurer and one alderman from each ward are elected on one cycle, with the remaining alderman representatives elected in the alternate election.

Additional information is available these websites: